351 in 365

Re-presenting Massachusetts Through the Lens.

Gardner and Winchendon: Bygone Eras

Yesterday, one of my goals was to find a couple of Massachusetts monuments and do a compare/contrast. I ended up accidentally finding a lot more. Before I get into that, though, let’s take a look at what was once the largest chair in the world.

Large Chair • Gardner, MA

Why does Gardner, MA have a super-huge chair sitting on the front lawn of the Helen Mae Sauter School? At the turn of the century, this town was churning 4 million pieces of furniture each year; 20 chair factories is nothing to shake a stick at. Some people call Gardner the Furniture Capital of New England, while others simply call it Chair City.

Another 15-minute drive and I was looking at a horse in Winchendon, MA.

Clyde II • Winchendon, MA

As I jumped out of my car and photographed the Clyde II statue, I probably looked as if I were on a scavenger hunt, team of one. So why was this silly horse standing in the middle of the bank’s parking lot? Around the same time that Gardner was in its furniture heyday, Winchendon was at the height of its toy production. The town produced so many toys that people called it Toy Town — this horse represents that.

What was even more interesting was what I found on the way to the horse. As I was driving down the main road, I could see a mill in the distance. Was it abandoned? Or was it one of those rare, old local mills still in operation? There was only one way to find out.

Behind a school was a series of dilapidated buildings. The sign said “NO TRESPASSING.” I trespassed.

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

I got closer.

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

And walked up the path.

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

There were more signs: “KEEP OUT.” I kept walking.

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

One of the buildings reminded me of an abandoned train station in Weston, MA that I wrote about a couple of months ago.

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

As I walked back to my car, I saw a smaller building. Once an office, perhaps?

Abandoned Mill Site • Winchendon, MA

It was a small site, but full of a rich history that I’ll never fully know.

12 responses to “Gardner and Winchendon: Bygone Eras

  1. thesweetkitten January 29, 2012 at 9:04 am

    You naughty girl 🙂 But at least, you saw some interesting stuff!

  2. gardenfreshtomatoes January 29, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Seen the Chair, but not the horse…
    I’ll bet the mill has problems with Urban Explorers…great shots from the outside, but you’d be taking huge risks if you went in (That’s the universal ‘you’, not the Mel ‘you’… 😀 )
    Good find…
    Did you know that there’s an abandoned drive-in on RT 146? It’s near Sutton. Great photo op – wish I had time to stop there myself.

    • melfrommass January 30, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Oooh, I actually stopped in Sutton yesterday. I’ll keep this in mind if I return later this year — thanks for the tip!

      And, I used to know one of those urban explorers…whenever she’d invite me to go out with her crew, I would respectfully decline. Sometimes, I want to photograph to one of those abandoned asylums, like the one in Danvers. But I don’t know how I’d actually go inside…I get so creeped out, and it feels like I’d be invading someone’s privacy even though there’s no one there. I feel conflicted on that topic because it is incredibly interesting.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge January 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    What great finds. That steeple on that abandoned mill is very interesting.

  4. promenadeplantings January 31, 2012 at 7:59 am

    there’s a kind of beauty in abandoned buildings. Near where I grew up (Manchester, UK) there were lots of old mills and industrial buildings. Many are now converted even more have been knocked down. So your pictures of the Mill Site • Winchendon, were interetsing for me. That’s a very beautiful building. I hope one day it is restored and finds a new life.

    • melfrommass January 31, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      Kerry just pointed something out to me that leads me to believe that it may still be in operation. Obviously, the buildings around it aren’t in use, but there may be hope for Goodspeed yet.

  5. kerryl29 January 31, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Very interesting stuff.

    I noticed the “Goodspeed Machine Company” signage in one of the photos. Via Google search, it appears that the company (which apparently makes wood-turning machinery, like lathes) is still in business AND is still located in Winchendon (http://www.goodspeedmachine.com/). Perhaps they’ve simply moved to new digs?

    • melfrommass January 31, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      That’s a distinct possibility…perhaps that exact building wasn’t abandoned while others most certainly were. It was off off summer St. and their Web site lists Summer Dr. as their P.O. box address. Maybe I was on Summer Dr.? Hmmm…

  6. Jeff February 2, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Love the old mill site pictures! Possibly my favorite so far. I don’t know what it is about old, abandoned buildings…I would have trespassed, too. 🙂

Leave a reply